Update

Just posting to say that I made the competition deadline. I’m posting a little bit late because I have been busy and sick too. I am working on an update that will be compiled with the new Faucet Networking Extension as well as a music fix because it didn’t loop properly. Also it seems that I forgot to add credit to the people who made Faucet so that will be added and to make it up to them I am adding an intro for the game as well that credits them.

Anyway enough of the boring update stuff, I wanted to take a minute to talk about some things I find interesting. What I find particularly interesting are different rendering techniques. Such as Mode-7 (used in older games like Super Mario Kart and F-Zero) and ray casting (used in Wolfenstien and a modified version was used in Doom). I have always had a certain fascination with these kind of things because they have always had a unique look to them. I while ago I helped someone with a fake 3D engine they were building. It was used mostly in top down situations where you wanted 3d buildings and such. I contributed a script that would project a point onto a plane. This was used for shadow casting because you would project each vertex of the shape onto the floor plane in the direction away from the light source. Thats where I found these cool techniques but I have never been able to incorporate one into any projects. Hopefully that will change because I am determined to use one in my future adventures.

That’s about all for this post and hopefully I can post again during or after the voting has finished for the competition.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

