Ugly Baby Syndrome

Today I was browsing the forums and came across a thread about the ugly baby syndrome. For those of you who don’t know what that is it refers to when parents can’t accept the fact that they have an ugly baby because they are so attached to it and they are blinded by their love for it. In terms of game development this is when yu have spent so much time crafting this game that you immediately throw away any constructive critisism. As I was reading this I find that I am almost the opposite. I find that I am so attached to a project that I just get lost it all the technical details and any fun that could have been had is lost. I also tend to think that my games are bad once I am finished with them. Another problem I have had with every game I have gotten close to or actually finished, is that nearing the end of development I get so sick of working on the same idea and coding tedious thigs like menus that I just lose all motivation. I was playing my contest entry with someone from the irc and they told me that the game was too slow paced. So I changed it and now I think it is better as a game and I think that playing your game with someone and talking to them about certain aspects is a really good exercise and I wish I had done it on previous games. That can be hard though after you’ve slaved for months on something and someone comes along and says this is bad and this should be changed but in the end they are just trying to help.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

